Social Foundations of Curriculum

In this week’s chapter, the discussion focused around how curriculum is shaped by social forces. There are many ways that the school influences the community. These influences include citizenship, intellectualism, and vocational preparation.  And society influences schools through parental involvement, tradition, textbooks, laws, religion and moral values, research, poverty, changes in family structure, and multicultural issues.

Please respond to ONE of the following in the comments section.

What is a topic discussed in the chapter that you had not considered as part of curriculum? How has this chapter changed your mind about the topic’s impact on curriculum?

OR

What evidence do you have that your school’s culture affects its curriculum?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Social Foundations of Curriculum

  1. What is a topic discussed in the chapter that you had not considered as part of curriculum? How has this chapter changed your mind about the topic’s impact on curriculum?
    The topic of hidden curriculum really shocked me because of the way it relates to the real world. The most interesting thing about the topic is that students get this mind set off of this little statement: “If your teachers let little things continue to slide because you are an outstanding student-athlete, others should do the same.” I had to learn the hard way. I would be late to homeroom all the time, and my homeroom teacher would just let me in because I was a good student. I wish it was, but that is not the way it works. My freshman year of college I tried to be late to class and got flat out embarrassed. It was not nice. What “got it” in the small town of Daphne doesn’t fly everywhere else, Lesson Learned.
    Students need structure and if the structure has any weak points in it, it will fall and not work for the one enforcing them. Curriculum needs to be consistent. If there are any exceptions to any rule the student will test that exception and try to make them work towards their liking.
    The way things work sometimes makes teachers do certain things that are deemed unacceptable, but what can they do about it. Sometimes they have to change a grade to help a student be elgible because he is the star quarterback or he is the number one college prospect setting records nationwide ob the track team. Teachers want to do what they know is right but have little “say so” when it comes down to it. They know what they have to do; what their principal tells them to do ir resign to keep funds coming in. I don’t agree with it. The way certain rules are bent makes teachers just let things slide just so they don’t have a headache from it. On the other hand, I guess my teacher did me that way in homeroom just letting me slide. It didn’t teach me until I got embarrassed from “Just letting me slide”. I think we need be strong in what we believe in and don’t let anyone tell us which way to go, no matter who it is.

  2. Vanessa Pratcher

    What evidence do you have that your school’s culture affects its curriculum?

    The evidence that I have about my school’s culture affects its curriculum is the committees’ decision to purchase certain textbooks. Therefore, it will affect my presentation of the material and what emphasis that I place on that particular subject. I believed that the way an individual reacts to things around them is very much affected by their culture. Even the degree of importance of learning itself is a part of the culture of an area. What we value is shaped by our culture in our everyday life. Our children are shaped by the socialization through which education’s institutions are formed and change. It can also be seen in the classes they offer and the extra curriculum activities they have for the students. Teachers shape the children and you can see this in their behavior and how they function in class.

  3. kenric minges

    What is a topic discussed in the chapter that you had not considered as part of curriculum? How has this chapter changed your mind about the topic’s impact on curriculum?

    I found this chapter to be an awakening of sorts. I have taught in a classroom for two years with no prior experience or academic background in education. (I have an MBA.) The concept of curriculum never entailed socialization activities or community involvement. I think that most schools in Hale County are sorely lacking in the community involvement aspects of curriculum. And, I believe that engaging the community, at least those segments that are traditionally underserved, in health fairs, nutrition workshops, voter registration drives, etc. could do no harm. It has the potential to take those students whose backgrounds do not encourage academic achievement and helping their families to support the school’s efforts in the educational process.

  4. Derrick Hester

    What is a topic discussed in the chapter that you have not considered as part of the curriculum? How does this chapter changed your mind about the topic’s impact on curriculum?

    Before the reading and discussing of this chapter, I have never considered the social aspect of school as part of the curriculum. I have always thought of a curriculum as a specific program of studies. Basically, I thought a curriculum was the educational aspect of a school. However, from the discussion, I have learned that the curriculum is everything that goes on in the school. The curriculum includes the program of studies, the school activities, the parental involvement, the experiences of the students, and so much more. It is basically everything that affects the student intellectually and socially. This chapter has helped me to realize everything that influences a school’s curriculum. When discussing a school’s curriculum, one must discuss the social aspect of a school and realize the impact that it has on a school’s curriculum.

  5. Laquanda

    What is a topic discussed in the chapter that you had not considered as part of curriculum? How has this chapter changed your mind about the topic’s impact on curriculum?

    Before the discussion in class and after reading the chapter I did not realize how much a major part of our lives technology is. I guess from being around technology so much I have taken for granted the impact it has on me. For me technology in the classroom is researching topics and sending work via email and now I realize technology can be used across various disciplines which will in turn capture the interest of the students and keep them involved. Technology can be used to make the curriculum more flexible and more hands on.

  6. lauriefowler

    These responses by Derrick, Kenric, Vanessa, and Edoli are very thorough and thought provoking. Thanks for sharing your ideas and thoughts. Come on the rest of you . . . please post before class tomorrow night!

  7. Gwendolyn Jeffries

    What is a topic discussed in this chapter that you had not considered part of curriculum? How has this chapter changed you mind about the topic’s impact on curriculum? After reading the chapter and realizing all that is involved in a school’s curriculum, it was amazing to know that something as simple a a field trip is centered around the curriculum. When I was in the school system, because of teaching special education my assigned students had homeroom teachers at their grade levels. I did not have to plan field trips, but now that I have read this chapter and understand why teachers center their trips around information being taught in class. It is interesting to know that students and teachers can take a virtual field trip via the internet. This has helped me realize that curriculum planning is very important and when a team of individual working on the curriculum planning committe for their school district they should be very aware of what is important for the students, families and communities who they are working for. I find this very helpful, because when I went on field trips in school I thought they were just for fun.

  8. This chapter really opened my eyes to many things that I do on a daily basis that I never considered were a part of the curriculum. I did not consider character education as being a part of the curriculum. I considered character education to be a part of the morals that people instilled in their children each day. This chapter made me realize that curriculum does not just affect our student academically it also affects them socially. I address many of these characterics listed in the Character Education course of study on a daily basis; but I did not realize that character education was a part of the curriculum. Character education must be addressed. This was a wonderful chapter.

  9. Deborah Y. Sommerville

    What is the topic discussed in the chapter that you had not considered as a part of curriculum, or How has this chapter changed your mind about the topic’s impact on curriculum ?-
    Before I answered either one of these questions, I must admit I first read my fellow classmates responses and enjoyed their points. I do think the same way; however, while we discussed this chapter 2 in class, I was amazed and learned that (1.) political factors influence the federal funds where the 70% graduation rate has decreased and The Alternative Assessment students do not have to take the SAT who have 75% I.Q. and not 70) for special education. With this, I learned that we need to be more focused on students’ mathematics achievements. Now, this I have thought was an important concept to focus on as I taught or teach. 2. I thought it was important that the school’s staff should explore not only as departments focusing on particular students – the part, but the focus should be also on the student body as a whole allowing students an opportunity to ask questions. 3. Some features in local reform efforts that are used to meet the special needs of minority students were the after school learning programs or enrichment orientation programs. When I answered this question, I had thought about the use of technology or computer base enrichment programs in the class room and have used technology as a teaching tool. Also, I learned that education awareness, health intervention, and social interventions, can be used to define community education reform when we discussed the need for health care nurses and social workers as part of the full-time staff. 5. With the vocational preparation, I thought that the need to inform the students of the job availabilities or opportunities was good, especially, for those students that do not plan to go to college. Finally, 6. The use of classroom research and technology in the class room were something I have tried, and I was happy to know that it is a needed issue for curriculum development.
    I conclude with the case study we had to read and would like to say I like the principal’s desire to work with his staff; I see this in our class as our instructor, you – Dr. Fowler, discuss with us. I really enjoyed the way you simplified your powerpoints for Chapter 2. I was amazed. THANKS!

  10. Matt Matthews

    The hidden classroom cirriculum is the facet of cirriculum that came as a suprise to me, more than others. I had know idea how instrumental simple class room procedure can be utilized as hidden cirriculum. When you think about it, the bells system is an excellent example – I had know idea how much kids learn whenever they’re not even thinking they’re learning anything.

Leave a Reply

